top of page

Ballroom

CREATION 2025

An unbelievable dance of the bouncing balls.

 

Juggler Stijn Grupping has been throwing bouncing balls for more than 20 years, against walls, tables and chairs, even robots. The balls bounce self-possessed through space, forming a play of lines that is sometimes elegant and rhythmic, sometimes complex and vigorous. Only to end – if all goes well – in the juggler’s hands again.
 

In Ballroom we pass through exactly that most elementary of the discipline of juggling: Stijn throws the balls and then catches them. What if the balls are allowed to draw their own choreography? How will they move through space? From a to b, or rather the other way around? Faster or slower, sideways or in a cha cha cha? Do they colour outside the expected lines?
 

Ballroom plays in a truck, where a small audience is seated together with the juggler. Through juggling and magic, they discover how the trajectories of bouncing balls are cut up and shaken in time and space, and presented again in their own reality. Musicians Jochem Baelus and Frederik Meulyzer create a world of sound, using everything that's free or fixed in the concrete room as their thrilling instrument.

Post uit Hessdalen

Credits

Creation: Ine Van Baelen & Stijn Grupping Performance: Stijn Grupping Direction: Ine Van Baelen Music: Frederik Meulyzer & Jochem Baelus Scenography: Lodewijk Heylen Choreography: Inga Huld Hàkonardòttir Light design: Lucas Van Haesbroeck Outside eye: Koen Haegdorens Copoduction: CIRKL, Theater op de Markt, MiramirO, Perpodium With the support of: the Flemish Government Distribution: Klaartje Brouns (JE BURO) Thank you: hetpaleis, Karolien Derwael & Vincent Company

Practical info

DETAILS

5+
30 min
performance without words
max 3x/day


in truck PUH
capacity: 40 persons

min 12m x 10m parking space

 

TIMING

 J: arrival, build-up, show, breakdown
 

SCHOOLS

 1 (& 2e) grade primary school

TEAM

​3 persons​​

travel from BE

PREMIERE
 

april 2025 @ MAD festival, Antwerpen (BE)

bottom of page

top of page

Ballroom

Une incroyable danse de balles rebondissantes

 

Depuis plus de 20 ans, le jongleur Stijn Grupping lance des balles rebondissantes contre tout ce qui l'entoure, qu'il s'agisse de murs, de tables, de chaises ou de robots. Les balles rebondissent dans l’espace, formant un jeu de lignes tantôt gracieuses et rythmées, tantôt complexes et puissantes. Pour finir, si tout va bien, dans les mains du jongleur.

 

Dans Ballroom, c’est exactement cette discipline la plus élémentaire de la jonglerie qui est mise à l’épreuve : Stijn lance les balles et les rattrape. Et si on laissait les balles dessiner leur propre choréographie ? Comment veulent-elles se déplacer dans l’espace ? De a à b, ou plutôt dans l’autre sens ? Plus vite ou plus lentement, de côté ou en cha cha cha ? Colorent-ils en dehors des lignes prévues ?

 

Ballroom joue dans un camion, où un petit groupe de spectateurs est assis avec le jongleur. Par le biais de la jonglerie et de la magie, ils découvrent comment les trajectoires des balles rebondissantes sont découpées et secouées dans le temps et l’espace, et présentées à nouveau dans leur propre réalité. Les musiciens Jochem Baelus et Frederik Meulyzer créent un monde sonore en utilisant tout ce qui se trouve dans l'espace concret comme un instrument vibrant.

Post uit Hessdalen

Credits

Creation: Ine Van Baelen & Stijn Grupping Performance: Stijn Grupping Direction: Ine Van Baelen Musique: Frederik Meulyzer & Jochem Baelus Scénographie: Lodewijk Heylen Choreographie: Inga Huld Hàkonardòttir Lumière: Lucas Van Haesbroeck Outside eye: Koen Haegdorens Copoduction: CIRKL, Theater op de Markt, MiramirO, Perpodium Avec le soutien du: Gouvernement Flamand Distribution: Klaartje Brouns (JE BURO) Merci à: hetpaleis, Karolien Derwael & Vincent Company

Infos pratiques

DETAILS

5+
30 min
performance without words
max 3x/day


in truck PUH
capacity: 40 persons

min 12m x 10m parking space

Les spectacles de Post uit Hessdalen sont éligibles à l’ONDA.

TIMING

 J: arrival, build-up, show, breakdown
 

SCHOOLS

 1 (& 2e) grade primary school

TEAM

​3 persons​​

travel from BE

PREMIERE

april 2025 @ MAD festival, Antwerpen (BE)

bottom of page