top of page

PAKMAN

Post uit Hessdalen

PAKMAN lives faster than a mouse can click. Drives around the country to deliver packages – always precisely on time. 1 package, 2 forms, 3 stamps, 6 autographs, 450 times a day, 159.750 packages a year and in return 10 holidays. PAKMAN is a sole and invisible man in our virtual economy. On board of his small truck, PAKMAN invites the audience for a rhythmical circus performance. 

PAKMAN is a duel between the rhythms of juggler Stijn Grupping and drummer Frederik Meulyzer. Together they explore the hastiness of ‘our’ time. How does this imposed speed oppose our natural rhythms such as breathing and heartbeat? Stijn and Frederik let the rhythms and routines of their bouncing balls and drums dialogue. Their instruments harmonize and clash.

The truck of PAKMAN stops on a square, parking or playground. 


"PAKMAN is a lovely example of what theatre is capable of doing so well: being widely entertaining and also building empathy.”Lyn Gardner - The Guardian


“PAKMAN is without doubt the discovery of the festival.Energetic sweat, rhythm and detail: Post uit Hessdalen has got it all.”

Magali Degrande - De Gentenaar

 

“An exciting jam between juggler and drummer. (…)With the power of their imagination they dismantle the gloomy courier service system.”

Evelyne Coussens - De Morgen 

“Post uit Hessdalen is the revelation between all that new talent. (…)Juggler Stijn Grupping performs the line worker of this era.”

Wouter Hillaert - De Standaard

A creation of: Stijn Grupping, Frederik Meulyzer & Ine Van Baelen Direction: Ine Van Baelen Circus and live music: Frederik Meulyzer/Jochem Baelus & Stijn Grupping Scenography: Reinout Hiel Choreography: Karolien Verlinden Costumes: Linse Van Gool Graphic design: Vildana Memic Distribution: Klaartje Brouns (JE BURO) Coproduction: Theater op de Markt & MiramirO With the support of: Flanders State of the Art, Province of Antwerp & City of Antwerp thank you: Klein Verzet & Vincent Company

Practical info

🔧 min 10m x 3m parking space

capacity: 25 pers/show

🗓️ J: arrival, build-up, show, breakdown

👥 3 persons - travel from BE


Première: 16 juli 2016  @ Miramiro, Gent (BE)

bottom of page

top of page

PAKMAN

Post uit Hessdalen

PAKMAN vit plus vite qu’une souris ne peut cliquer. 1 petit colis, 2 formulaires, 3 tampons, 6 signatures, 450 fois par jour, 159 750 colis distribués par an en échange de 10 jours de vacances. PAKMAN sillonne le pays pour livrer des colis, toujours bien à temps. Dans le conteneur de son petit camion, le public est invité à assister à un spectacle intense à propos d’un participant aussi solitaire qu’invisible à notre économie virtuelle. 

PAKMAN est une rencontre entre les rythmes du jongleur Stijn Grupping et du batteur Frederik Meulyzer. Ensemble, ils explorent le rythme auquel « cette » époque est soumise. Comment la célérité imposée à PAKMAN se rapporte-t-elle à ses rythmes naturels comme le pouls et la respiration ? Stijn et Frederik font entrer en dialogue les rythmes et les routines de leurs balles rebondissantes et de leurs percussions. Ensemble, ils créent de la musique en public et ce faisant, se renforcent, se contrecarrent et se défient mutuellement – chacun avec son propre instrument. 

PAKMAN se joue dans un camion qui fait halte sur des squares, des parkings et des aires de jeux. 


« PAKMAN est indubitablement La découverte du festival. Sueur énergétique, cadence et sens du détail : Post uit Hessdalen fait montre de tout cela.» - Magali Degrande dans De Gentenaar

 

« Une improvisation électrisante entre un batteur et un jongleur. […]La force de leur imagination fait craquer de partout le triste système des petits colis ».

- Evelyne Coussens dans De Morgen

 

« Pakman est un charmant exemple de ce que le théâtre est capable de si bien faire : être démesurément divertissant tout en éveillant de l’empathie. »

- Lyn Gardner dans The Guardian

Une création de: Frederik Meulyzer, Ine Van Baelen & Stijn Grupping Direction: Ine Van Baelen Cirque et live musique: Frederik Meulyzer/Jochem Baelus & Stijn Grupping Scénographie: Reinout Hiel Chorégraphie: Karolien Verlinden Costumes: Linse Van Gool Diffusion: Klaartje Brouns (JE BURO) Coproduction: Miramiro & Theater op de Markt Avec le soutien de: la province d’Anvers, la ville d’Anvers & le gouvernement flamand merci à: Klein Verzet & Vincent Company

Infos pratiques

🔧 min 10m x 3m parking space

capacity: 25 pers/show

🗓️ J: arrival, build-up, show, breakdown

👥 3 persons - travel from BE


Première: 16 juli 2016  @ Miramiro, Gent (BE)

bottom of page